Things that Make Me Smile All Over My Face

Short list of things that put an instant smile on my face.

  • BREAD. I mostly prefer Italian, not sliced bread. I recently discovered Panera Bread. Whoever invented the soup in a bread bowl should have a plaque in their honor.
  • SALSA MUSIC. I don’t know who’s spirit is not lifted by salsa music. I love the classics: watch a few.

(with Ms. Debbie Allen getting down!)

And my all-time favorite song!

  • THE SUN- Especially after days of snow and bitter weather.
  • TEXT MESSAGES LATE AT NIGHT or EARLY IN THE MORNING- Who doesn’t want to be the last thought before bed or the first memory as soon as the sun rises?

Image from WeHeartIt

  • SURPRISES- Mostly when I can anticipate them. :)
  • FLIGHT CONFIRMATION E-MAILS- I love planes. I probably went into the wrong field.
  • KITTENS- Self-explanatory.
  • RANDOM ACTS OF KINDNESS- The last random act of kindness that someone did for me was interpret some math scores. Anyone who struggles with math knows exactly what that means.
  • THE RIGHT SONG at THE RIGHT TIME- Ever been listening to Pandora and then POW! that song comes on. Yea, powerful.
  • BABIES LAUGHTER- Have you seen this one yet?
  • YOU TUBE VIDEOS that you’re glad you wasted time watching- Like this one:
  • WRITING- When I can’t seem to be productive, writing is always easy. Hitting the PUBLISH button makes my day.

What are some things that make your list?

8 comments

  1. don · April 3, 2012

    In earlier times did you know that some civilizations considered the Sun itself as God?

    Reading and writing are two things that serve as a constant in my life. Especially when I’m reading a writer or author whose material and style of writing I’ve grown to appreciate more than others i.e. John Grisham, Ralph Wiley, Dream Hampton.

    I like eating slices of wheat bread, separately, or with an apple.

    In ’08 someone introduced me to Salsa music, it was nice, but I just couldn’t seem to get all the way into it. Or, in a way that made me want to continue listening. Blame this factor on years and years of hip hip and the fact that I’m an R&B head.

    Co-sign early morning and late-night text messages.

    • shetraces · April 3, 2012

      I’m not surprised, the sun has some amazing qualities.

      Tell me more about this hip-hip. I haven’t heard of it. :)

      Eating wheat bread with an apple- that’s hilarious! I don’t like apples and force myself to eat wheat bread.

  2. don · April 3, 2012

    Probably the funniest video I’ve ever witnessed on YouTube:

  3. Ms. Nikks · April 3, 2012

    Going for a drive outside the city limits. Seeing the green grass, barns, and sun hitting my face. I smile just at the realization that I’m alive to enjoy the simple things.

    Babies, giggling & cooing.

    The smell of bacon & baking in a home!

    Ex texts out of the blue…it’s nice to know you’re thought of and that you left an impression.

    • shetraces · April 3, 2012

      LOL Ex texts..the familiarity of it all.

  4. Priceless · April 3, 2012

    I co-sign on the early AM texts.

    I love finding a dollar bill in my pocket.

    I love Calypso – the way you feel about Salsa I feel about Calypso!

    I love when my dog is running so fast that she trips over her paws or flips! Too cute!

    • shetraces · April 3, 2012

      Oh.. or a $10 dollar bill when you’re broke is even sweeter!
      Yes, I can say that I haven’t given calypso a chance. Any recommendation for a newbie?

  5. commentarybyvalentina · April 3, 2012

    Salsa lover here too! If you like classic salsa check out Hector Lavoe. Also check out the Fania All-stars. Let me know if you liked them.

Leave a Reply

