21 Things: A Birthday Tribute to Maura

On this coming Saturday, April 21st my Big Sis will be celebrating her 30-something birthday. At a beautiful resort in Playa Bonita, Costa Rica. Without me. *sad face*

Anywho, I decided since I cannot be where she is I would send her some virtual hugs and appreciation by putting all her business on the streets. Below are some things I love to love about her, and if you know her, I’m sure you would agree. Feel free to add more things you love about MAURA (pronounced ma-oh-ra real fast!). And if you don’t know her, that’s okay, send her some wishes too!  Audience participation strongly recommended.

Maurita (right) and Tracita circa 2006

21 Things You May Not Know About Maura:

Maurita,

  • You’re the strongest person I know.
  • Your presence and laughter lights up a room.
  • You’ve been married for 4 years now. 🙂
  • People can hear you coming blocks away.
  • You’re not afraid to leave your comfort zone.
  • You aspired to culinary arts, debt collection, and entrepreneurship before landing the right job doing something you studied: dental technician.
  • You taught me how to drive. (and Chevon)
  • You’re a sucker for love/comfort/acceptance.
  • If someone has your loyalty, they have it for life.
  • You give more thank you ask for.
  • We got our ‘first jobs’ together when I was 19 and you were 26. Then we went and spent most of that money on Roca-Wear velours and Air Jordans on Jamaica Avenue.
  • You make the best bread pudding.
  • You can’t spell for nothing! But I still love you.
  • You came from the most humble woman ever.
  • You’re a hustler, baby.
  • Your toes are comparable to chicken feet. But I still love you.
  • When I got a boyfriend, you dated his cousin.
  • You helped me and my mother’s relationship with the reflection of your own closeness with your mom.
  • You love Fred Hammond.
  • You drive in cars with loud music.
  • You write like a leftie, but you’re a righty.

AND A BONUS….

You are the best sister/daughter/girlfriend/friend anyone could ever ask for!!

God has way more in store for you than you can imagine, I love you.

Your ñaña,
She

21 Things: A Birthday Tribute to Maura

8 thoughts on “21 Things: A Birthday Tribute to Maura

  1. Tammy says:

    Happy Birthday Maura!!! I hope you are loving being back home, but we miss you here. I hope you have a wonderful day and a blessed year.

  2. I can feel the love in this post. Happy Birthday to your ace.

    She and I have something in common – dental lab tech. Which was my employment during military days. I enjoyed, but decided to avoid that particular route as a civilian. Why? Cause I couldn’t deal with those white folks.

  3. Jessica says:

    “Happy Birthday to ya! Happy Birthdayyyy! Haas-ppp ..,”ok let me stop lol Happy Birthday to your sis and many many more! God bless.

Leave a Reply

