Tica Wan No: Do you try new foods?

This was my first time trying Himalayan food. The menu at this particular restaurant covered certain areas: Tibetan, Bhutanese and Nepali regions. I never did find the official name of the dish, the small town restaurant I visited did not have a website or online menu, but in my research I did discover that stews and stir-fried noodles are very popular dishes. Commonly used flavoring ingredients are garlic, ginger, cumin, coriander, turmeric, nutmeg, bay leaves, black pepper, chilies, onions, cilantro, and scallions.

TICA WAN NO: How do you feel about trying new foods? Do you jump at the chance, very rarely do it or are somewhere in between?

Eating Good,

Tica

PS- If you missed the Duck Liver episode in Montreal- catch up!

8 thoughts on “Tica Wan No: Do you try new foods?

  1. Ha! Thanks for sharing your trying-new-food experience with us.

    I definitely love trying new food! I’m pescetarian (a vegetarian who eats fish) so as long the food falls within those parameters, then I’m willing to try just about anything. I also give myself an exception to my pescetarian diet by allowing myself to eat whatever I want when I travel abroad, meat included. I believe eating food that is native to the country I’m in is essential to truly experiencing that country and I don’t want there to be any limitations to that experience.

    There are SO many different types of food in the world, why limit myself to only what I’m familiar with. As a matter of fact, the stranger the better. It just has to LOOK appetizing. If it looks gross, then I won’t eat it. But I’ll eat pig testicles as long as it’s prepared and presented well.

    1. I know what you mean about getting the full experience when going abroad. For some reason, I just can’t embrace everything, although mentally I would like to.
      Food is a big part of my life, but if I ever get to Asia, I think I’ll be starving…A LOT. lol

      1. To me, the reward outweighs the risk. If I try something and I don’t like it, I’ll just spit it out. Done. But if I try something I’ve never had before and I do like it, that is one of the best things ever! Now I know that I like that thing and can look for it again. So the risk is worth it! To me.

        When I was in Thailand I really wanted to try a fried rat or glazed grasshoppers or something really weird. But I couldn’t find anything. I was so bummed. LOL

  2. I won’t try something simply because it is a new food, but I love to try foods that are staple or common foods from around the world. So if I go to a restaurant I won’t feel compelled to try something just because I’ve never had it. But if I’m out and there is a dish that is very popular among people from a certain culture/ country/ region then I will absolutely try it.

    1. I think I’m on the same boat. Everyone talks about poutine in Montreal, and when I finally had it. My life changed. I never knew gravy on fries and cheese curds would do it for me. It’s sinfully good.
      Usually when I go to my fave restaurants I don’t deviate from the norm.

  3. That looks so good! I love spicy food. I’m so bad about trying new foods unless it’s in a new culture, then I want the full experience. You’re so cute in the foie gras video. I’m so weird about textures, too. I won’t eat somethings because of it.

  4. I like new ways of cooking and using spices and sauces. Eating weird things…I draw the line at bugs/insects. I’m willing to take a bite of certain things. I’ve had heart, liver, kidney, and tongue lol.

Leave a Reply

