R&B Divas- Will You Watch?

I know I hardly talk about TV or pop culture on this blog, but there’s a first time for everything.

I’ve been seeing the ads for this new reality show that premieres on August 20th for a while now. The only reason that it caught my eye is because it features 5 ladies that are all unique artists, all bring back classic memories for me, they had legit careers, and are women who don’t seem to be hungry for TV-time, or attention.

I’m an R&B girl. On any given day, my Pandora playlist is filled with 80% of R&B Artists. Lots of them had their moment in the early 90’s. Most are women. Let’s focus a little more on the cast of the show, one by one. From what I can gather, Faith Evans thought to make this show happen and make a compilation album with all the ladies, after the passing of Whitney Houston. See trailer below. What I liked most about it, is that it’s collaborative and not DRAMA-DRIVEN. But a little drama ain’t never hurt nobody either. 🙂

Diva #1: Faith Evans

After Mary J. Blige, Faith Evans was my second most favorite artist when I was younger. She was fly, classy and light-skinned. 🙂 What, I can’t like an artist that looked like me in the mirror? I still admire Evans to this day because even after all the public drama she went through being married to Biggie, she led her life being dedicated to her family and her reputation.

Diva #2: Monifah

And if the sun don’t shine, you brighten up my day...”Monifah introduced me to Heavy D, and I owned her first album, which I would play faithfully before I even knew what she was truly singing about. She also introduced me to this gospel song, which also makes me nostalgic.

Diva #3: KeKe Wyatt

I don’t know much about KeKe Wyatt except that she was featured on Avant’s track and one of my favorite all time love songs: My First Love. I don’t think she had much success on her solo project.

Diva #4: Syleena Johnson

Another Diva I don’t know too much about, except she made a guest appearance in another one of my favorite videos: Kanye West’s All Falls Down.

Diva #5: Nicci Gilbert

I have never heard of this woman before the trailer. Is she even a singer? Maybe you guys can fill in some information for me.

I do wish there was one other artist on the show we just don’t see enough about: TAMIA!! Mya is also hiding out somewhere, I don’t want to say she fell off- but she’s been trying to release her project for way too long.

Will you be watching? If so, Who else do you wish was being featured on the show?

5 thoughts on “R&B Divas- Will You Watch?

  1. I think I’d actually watch this. I love all these women. My iTunes is full of old R&B! Looks good and Monifah’s storyline looks interesting for sure.

    1. I saw the first episode- not sure if it’s worth 45 minutes of my week but Keke’s relationship makes for a great storyline. She basically desmasculates her husband- and he lets her! I kept on wanting to tell her: ‘having your man by your side 24-7 does not mean he still can’t cheat!’…I felt bad for her.

  2. I have seen about 3 episodes and I would like to see where it goes. I am perplexed by the insecurities of Keke though. She needs some counseling and I don’t mean that in a bad way. She has been though some traumatic life events, I wish she was at my church last night the sermon was called “Trace it, Face it and Erase it!” Talking about a powerful Word! Be blessed!

Leave a Reply

