Sweet Variability

Image from WeHeartIt.com

[2004]

  •  At age 19 I thought I would become a social worker. My major would be Human Services, indeed a worthy cause. Someone said to me, you want to be broke and depressed all the time?
  •  At age 20 I discovered my junior college offered a Writing and Literature track… I love them both equally. And promptly changed my major.
  • At age 21 I completed 60 credits, and said goodbye to Community College with an Associate’s in Arts. My boss at the time inspired me to consider law. There’s not enough minorities practicing, he whispered.
  • At age 22 I gave Legal Studies a try. I was moved by immigration law, but did I really have to learn about all types of law before I could specialize? I went to an LSAT prep session, looked at the practice questions and high-tailed it out of there.

[2008]

  •  At age 23 I went back to my first love: English. And for fun, I minored in Spanish.
  • At age 24 I studied abroad in Ecuador. I strengthened my Spanish, and met 11 awesome students on the trip. I coined us 12 the Ecua-Bunch.
  • At age 25 I graduated with a Bachelor’s degree– at the height of the recession. Figured I should go naturally in the direction of my talent– writing and try to break into publishing. I interned online with Centric TV’s Culture List Blog, and with magazines like Bridal Guide and Time Out NY: Kids. But at the end of the internships, there was no jobs in sight. With pressure building up, deduced that the writing thing was not as easy as I thought and went back to the drawing board.

[2011]

  • Turning point came when I lost my ‘pay-the-bills’ job and decided I didn’t want another job I could get fired from. Was already considering Speech Language Pathology after talking to some friends in the field, did my own research and found a pre-requisite program with the right price tag. Began the fast-track in the Fall, with my eyes on the prize: Graduate school in 2012.
  • At 27 years old, I am beginning my grad school journey at an HBCU. In 2014, I will have completed my Master’s in Communicative Disorders. I still have some fears, but I cannot wait for next step after school! I love education, but it just has to stop! 🙂

How many detours did you have on your journey to discovering your passion?

Sweet Variability

7 thoughts on “Sweet Variability

  1. First, I stopped by to wish you luck, not that you’ll need luck, in Grad school! I hope you soak up the experience and have a wonderful and fulfilling time. And I already know that you will excel, because you are brilliant! 🙂

    As for my passion. Lol. I’ve had a few passions. But sometimes passions can beat the passion out of you. I am always considering going back to one of my passions, radio. I loved radio but with consolidation of the industry it would be hard to find a radio home that wasn’t full of a bunch of corporate lackeys.

    My greatest passion of all was Ballet. I’d love to be involved with dance in some way. Not as a dancer at this point but maybe working at a ballet company? I don’t know.

    Anyway, I’m so excited for you! Enjoy school. I look forward to hearing about your first day. 🙂

    ***BIG HUG***

    1. Thanks so much. Ballet?! I would have never guessed. I was supposed to be a dancer, but I wasn’t flexible enough. lol I admire the discipline in ballet. Thanks so much for your encouragement.
      I hope you get back to your passions, too.

  2. I have been on many a journey. I believe that the best way to find yourself is to go looking. I think it is a very rare individual who determines who they want to be at a young age and follows it all the way through.. I changed my major a couple of times in college – only to graduate knowing exactly what I wanted to be – for a couple of years, lol. Since then, I have again changed my mind. I believe that as life continues to mold me, my life time choices continues to mold as well. Some call me lost, I call me selective.

    At one time in my life, I could have sworn I was going to be a figure skater – impressed by Nancy Kerrigan.. Mind you, I have NEVER been ice skating. (shh, don’t tell anyone… oh, and don’t judge me either) lol

    1. You have amazing support behind you, so be as selective as you want to be. You know what they say…you only live once (unless you believe in resurrection) so why be/stay miserable?

Leave a Reply

