[Preaching] Break

Dear Future Graduate Student,

If you’re anything like me, you’re an over-analyzer. You do your research before you dedicate to anything, or at least anything that will require substantial time or money. Graduate school is just like any academic endeavor; it’s not a light decision. It will be trying and it will stretch your human capabilities, but hard work does reap great benefits. Your hope is that the reward or end result will reap fruit for years to come. Future graduate student, whether you’ve been accepted/rejected or pending/preparing… I believe in you.

Even if you don’t feel like you measure up, or that you’re not smart enough. Push.

Can’t afford graduate school? Apply.

Second-guessing yourself about your career path? Pray.

Feel like you’ll never get into your dream school? Lies. And deception.

My point is: don’t limit God.

I’m a living testament that God works. How so? A few months ago, I applied to 4 graduate schools, and received 2 rejections. My self-esteem dropped real low when the same institution I had received my pre-requisites from didn’t accept me! Little did I know that rejection led to notice that I had gotten accepted to the last 2 schools. It’s not over until the fat lady sings, as they say.

The kicker is that I got accepted to my dream school. Knowing I could never cover tuition (even with a loan) I applied for a fellowship, and I got it! As long as I keep my GPA up– I’m covered until I graduate. You can’t tell me God doesn’t exist.

We have an advocate working on our behalf all the time, even when feel alone, forgotten and unworthy. Just step out on faith, and expect God to show up!

It has taken me a while to OWN my blessings, to understand THIS is the time, my future has begun. I’ve been hesitant to say where I am at this point in my life. But I can’t hide it anymore.

I’m a first-year graduate student in the Communication Sciences and Disorders program at a Historically Black University.

I’m a graduate clinician.

But above all,

I’m happy.

Future Graduate Student- so can you!!

5 thoughts on “[Preaching] Break

Leave a Reply

