I’m a Groupie

Although I lived in New York City for a long time, I was never really into the party scene and eventually celebrity sightings on sidewalks became pretty common. Well not super common, but some celebrities have an easier job of blending in in a City of 19 million people. I’ve been to a couple of concerts (Mary J. Blige, Maxwell and Alicia Keys where we had the opportunity to see Beyonce and Jay-Z bless the stage as well) and had the opportunity to even run into Don Cheadle at John F. Kennedy Airport one time.

Thanks to Pandora, I’ve recently become smitten with R&B artist Miguel. Here’s some fun facts about him:

  • His real name is Miguel Jontel Pimentel.
  • He was born on October 23, 1986. That makes him soon to be 26.
  • His new album Kaleidoscope Dream is set to be released tomorrow! (Oct 2nd)
  • Many of you may already be familiar with the first single from the album, Adorn.
  • He was born in the San Pedro neighborhood of Los Angeles, California.
  • He was born to a Mexican father and Black mother.
  • Signed to Jive Records in 2007.
  • He’s super short! (My estimate says no taller than 5’5)
  • He has the most beautiful smile ever!

One of my favorite songs from his first album:

When I realized he was performing at the Howard Theater, it was too late to purchase tickets. That Wednesday night, I got word from his Twitter account (@MiguelUnlimited) that he would be attending an after party at Josephine’s…so on a mission I went.

Tweets of the night:

9:23 PM – 26 Sep 12

Mid week spontaneity. Yes!!!

11:29 PM – 26 Sep 12

And so the adventure begins…

12:29 AM – 27 Sep 12

Still waiting forΒ @MiguelUnlimited.. Come bless us with thy presence.Β #Josephines

The man didn’t end up showing up until 1:20AM… about 40 minutes before the place closed.

I was still content with video of him at the DJ Booth.

But the highlight of the week was probably the fact that we got a chance to meet him outside the place, unintentionally. He blessed us with a picture.

Do you see his hand on my back? HE totally wants me.

IN love,

She

17 thoughts on “I’m a Groupie

  1. You went to an Alicia Keys concert! I like you even more! Lol

    There was a song by Miguel that I liked a lot. I can’t remember the name of it but it came out last year.

    Anyway, glad you got to meet him. I really don’t think I’d have the nerve to meet Alicia. I’d probably faint or something if I ran into her on the street. Lol

    πŸ™‚

    1. I did go to one in 2010. It was a gift for my ex, but he called my BS because he wasn’t a big fan of AK as I was. πŸ™‚
      You might have 50 million thoughts running through your head. And then you may think, “When will be the next time I run into Alicia again?” and that may prompt you to embarrass yourself. But at least you won’t walk away with the monster on your shoulder. You know the monster; the one that tells us all the things we should have/could have said after the moment has passed.

      1. If you get a chance today to see the Wendy Williams Show (gag), Miguel is on. He performs at about 45 minutes into the show. And after he performs she interviews him.

      2. I’m pulling your leg. lol Thanks for the heads up. Miguel has been on super promotion mode since the album was released today. I’m sure I’ll get tired of seeing him everywhere soon. πŸ™‚

  2. Nice! I didn’t know we were bday twins, I like him even more now. I saw him as an opener in concert once, he was better than I thought he would be, he works the stage well and he actually has a nice voice. Lucky you! Spontaneity pays off.

  3. You are heeeelarious! I love me some Miguel, it’s cool you got to meet him. I’m excited for his album, Adorn is. My. Ish.

    Um, did he seem like he liked girls?? He always looks like he has a little sugar in his tank, maybe it’s just me.

  4. Haha! Cute! As long as you maintain a healthy distance, I’m cool with you being a groupie. I too love Miguel as an artist in fact I just can’t stop listening to his new record “adorn” . That song just does something to me!

Leave a Reply

