What’s Rocking My World: Announcement

Whew! What a month. And it’s over today, can you believe it? How has February been to you?

Well, friends. The word of the month for me was STRESS. Second semester crept up on me like a beast. January breezed on by, only to welcome February where I partook in festivities like 1 Neurogenic Speech Disorders Midterm, 1 Stuttering exam in-class and one-take home, one Early intervention observation, 1 Clinical Practicum Midterm and next week I have a 10-page paper due for my Sociolinguistics class. You really don’t know what you can endure, until you are…well, enduring!

Time has been flying, but I wanted to take a couple of minutes to let you know the developments of Spring Break, which is right around the corner! (Second week of March)

Initially, I was all for New Orleans. I know Mardi Gras is over, but there’s something very appealing about NOLA, even after the festivities. I have already been warned about ‘sweet bread’…but I still want to go and eat to my heart’s desire.

Then, I wanted to take a trip to Toronto. I’ve only been to Montreal, so I figured I’d keep going west. Funds were looking tight, especially with my best friend’s destination wedding in May. So, Toronto is going back on the to do list.

I thought I’d have to settle for a weekend local trip.

Last semester, I expressed interest in an alternative Spring Break trip, but I hadn’t heard any developments so I just waited.

And waited.

And then Midterms kicked in.

Didn’t book anything. Then, the opportunity availed itself.

A service trip. All expenses paid courtesy of my school. 9 days. A multidisciplinary effort including medical students, dental students, and the allied health services. Working with the community, a school, learning a new culture, opening our eyes.

Next up. Destination:

H A I T I

Flag

Too excited,

She

7 thoughts on “What’s Rocking My World: Announcement

  1. Go, She! I’m so proud of you. You are such a trooper. I know you’re glad February is over! And, I remember you talking about the possibility of going to Haiti. I think it will be an amazing trip that you’ll never forget. I’m so happy for you. 🙂 I can’t wait to hear all about the trip.

    I hope you’ll be able to get a little rest before you go though. Sounds like you need it.

    🙂

  2. WOW!

    I have family from Haiti and would love to visit for that reason but also to of for my services. How great is it that you get to go! Enjoy! Safe travels and take loads of pictures!

    P.s. please make an Instagram!!!!

    1. Definitely check out your school or any affiliated schools that have ASB (Alternative Spring Break), they usually cover your expenses…and you will probably never see that happen again after you graduate.
      I am so thankful. I could not have chosen a better spring break myself.

Leave a Reply

