What’s Rockin’ My World: {Before Finals} Edition

  • Finals begin next week *cue dramatic music* and then I’ll do a happy dance for a couple of weeks until I register for the PRAXIS in January *cue even more dramatic music*
  • Holidays tend to make me sad because my family is away. I become reflective about the past year, and it makes me want to strive for more than what I currently have.
  • 2013 was SOOOOO good to me! The things I experienced this year were EPIC. I must remember it, before I have a chance to complain.
  • 2014 will bring more transition, and more adult-like decisions. I’m going to be a real-life working adult! Legit.
  • Graduation is May 2014! You comin’?
  • I’m still fresh back from Chicago where I attended the annual convention for speech language pathologists and audiologists (hosted by ASHA– American Speech-Language Hearing Association) from November 12-17th. I was privileged to be a part of a Minority Student Leadership Program, which is great recognition, but still a bit disconcerting considering speech pathology is 94% white-dominated! Diversity is necessary in the growing and ever-changing country we live in!
Twitterf7b0c39_jpg
Look Ma! I’m famous.

Some of my thoughts a couple of days into the Convention:

  • Here’s what one of the brilliant undergraduate students, Milon, had to say about the term “minority.” PS- He’s a minority AND male, which means he’ll basically never be without a job in our field.
  • I fell in love with Chicago. If it weren’t so cold, I could consider it a city to move to. It reminded me of NYC, except with less people. Perfect blend of city sights and musings, minus the garbage and rudeness. Here’s some video we took at Millennium Park, in the middle of a busy Saturday afternoon.
  • DC is experiencing a nasty weather drop, all I can say is *Kevin Hart voice* Nooooooooooo, I’m not ready!

Well, folks, thanks for still reading and I hope you all have a happy and safe holiday! Catch me on a daily tip here Twitter- @TracitaLinda. I talk back!

What’s rockin’ your world right now?

What’s Rockin’ My World: {Before Finals} Edition

3 thoughts on “What’s Rockin’ My World: {Before Finals} Edition

  1. Hey Trace, yes, graduation is definitely around the corner for you. Funny how time flies. I am so happy to experience this upcoming break that I don’t know what to do. I was near burnout, until I somehow had the blessing of a professor this semester that refused to accept less from his students which of course made me refocus. Thankfully. I feel you on the holidays and being away from family, but think about how much more committed it will make you once you start having your own family. I bet you say, “Slow down Don. Not so fast.” Lol.

    Never been to Chicago, only passed thru on the way to Wisconsin a few times. It is big and cold from what I remembered. And I can see how it reminds you of New York. I watched your videos and I was like, “Look at her, looking all grown and stuff.” Your video felt like a professional interview and I could tell that you are soooooo dedicated to grad school. Good deal. The last video reminded me of how funny you can be where you walked up to the camera at the ending and starting laughing. Hilarious.

    Happy Holidays, ma’am.

Leave a Reply

