The First: Is You Ready?

SLEEP
Credit: Weheartit.com

Whew! Where has the time gone?! Can you believe we are in November already? We blinked our eyes and summer was over. The cold has settled in and I am not quite ready to say goodbye to 2014. Changes are still happening around me, however, I am in a better mood to engage in life, my job, and my short term personal goals. I have been able to work it out so that I can still attend group therapy during the work week, and my brand spanking new roommate moved in today. I can’t believe to tell you what  a relief it has been to secure a roommate. That means that I don’t have to sacrifice my whole paycheck for one pay period a month. It means freedom! It means I can eat Chipotle once a week. It means I can buy some bottles of wine to keep my fridge stocked (and my stressful evenings at a minimum). It means I can pay all my bills when they are due. And it means I generally have more room to breathe (financially) week to week.

I moved out of DC to save money. That just hadn’t happened the past 3 months. It’s feasible now. I walked into the apartment today and sensed the difference though. It smelled different. But, that’s minor. I think this roommate business has its pro’s and con’s. I summed them up below:

Pro’s to having a roommate:

  • You’re not alone very often. To a person with depression, company could be a good thing.
  • You have someone who pretends to care when you’re sick, suffering, etc. Or they may not be pretending. Generally, you “pretend” at first.
  • The MOST obvious, you’re saving $$$.
  • You have someone to share your food with.
  • You have someone to share a drink with.
  • It’s like a never ending sleepover, a good thing if a friendship is cultivated.
  • You learn how to compromise.

Con’s to having a roommate:

  • You’re not alone very often. To a person that thrives from personal space and time, this may be stiffling.
  • I can’t pee with the door open.
  • I have to spray after I use my bathroom. (for courtesy)
  • My morning routines (including playing music, etc.) may have to change.
  • You have someone to share your food with, and may feel obligated to share with them in order to appear as if you have home training.
  • You have someone to share a drink with. Then you get paranoid and hide your alcohol because you don’t trust your roommate.
  • It’s like a never ending sleepover, and you just want your space back.
  • You can’t remember what food in the fridge you bought.
  • You’re afraid over every little noise when you’re not sure if they are home or not.
  • You can’t be “spontaneous” with company. Sexy time is “courteous.”

These are just some of the anxieties I may deal with later down the road, but as of right now I’m still on the high of saving $$$. Especially today, the First of the month. November is already looking up! So today, I celebrate new beginnings, more money in the bank, the cold making a grand entrance and the writing process.

What are some things you’re celebrating on the First? Any Pro’s or Con’s to add to the list?

Wake up!

-She

The First: Is You Ready?

6 thoughts on “The First: Is You Ready?

  1. You’re right the saving money part us pretty awesome. But, you never know when they’ll leave, so save up 🙂 make some ground rules early. Like, “please wash your dishes and out them away” Lol. Alone time vs slumber party is a dilemma :-/ have fun!

  2. Enigma says:

    I LOVED THIS! There are definitely pros and cons to both sides. Hopefully, you get to your fill of the pros and not to much of the cons!

  3. Hi! (BIG hug) Wow, so many new things going on with you. Congratulations on the new job and the new apartment and the new roommate. I hope all of those new things are going well.

    Stay warm and take care of yourself. Talk to you again soon.

      1. I’m doing just fine. I’ve missed you too. It sounds like you have a bunch of new stuff going on. I’m proud of you! 🙂 Talk soon.

Leave a Reply

